BGT2023: Team India's Big win against Australia DAY3 Highlights and Records

YouSay Short News App

India demonstrated complete control in the first Test match of the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023, held in Nagpur, as they emerged victorious by innings against Australia.

In the first innings, Australia was dismissed for a score of 177 runs, while India amassed 400 runs in their first innings.

On the third day, India began their innings at 321-7 and shortly after the start of play, they lost Ravindra Jadeja (70). However, Mohammed Shami stepped up and played a super cameo inning of 37 of 47 deliveries.

Australia took a string of wickets, limiting India's score to 400 runs. All-rounder Akshar Patel emerged as the second-highest scorer in the team, with a total of 84 runs.

Despite a lead of 223 runs by India, Australia struggled to handle the pressure exerted by India's spin bowlers in their second innings.

Australia lost their first wicket early on, with a score of just 7 runs. In the 6th over, Virat Kohli missed a catch offered by Warner. However, Warner soon departed with a score of 10 runs.

India's spin bowlers, Ashwin and Jadeja, put Australia under immense pressure by taking wickets in quick succession. Ashwin claimed a total of 5 wickets, Jadeja took 2, while Akshar Patel and Shami each contributed with 1 wicket.

Out of the Australian batting line-up, only Smith was able to hold his ground until the end. The rest of the team fell in quick succession. Smith scored 25 runs off 51 balls.

In the end, Australia was dismissed for a score of 91 runs in their second innings. As a result, India emerged victorious with a margin of 132 runs.

Ashwin made history by becoming the second bowler to claim the most number of wickets against Australia. He now shares this record with Anil Kumble, both with 111 wickets each.

Todd Murphy created history by becoming the second bowler to claim the most number of wickets on debut for Australia. With 7 wickets in this match, he trails behind Bob Massey (8) and Jason Krejza (8).

Rohit (120), Akshar Patel (84), and Ravindra Jadeja (70) were among the top run-getters for the Indian team. The combined total of 154 runs by Jadeja and Akshar Patel was almost equal to the 177 runs scored by Australia in their first innings.

Mohammed Shami surpassed Virat Kohli's record for the most number of sixes in Test matches. Kohli hit 24 sixes in 174 innings, while Shami achieved 25 sixes in just 85 innings.

Australia's score of 91 in this match represents their lowest total on Indian soil.